Sad to see Posterous go…

Posterous sent me a final notice that their service is shutting down.

Posterous shutting down April 30, 2013.  Save your posts now.

Posterous final shutdown warning, emailed April 28, 2013

As I mentioned above, it’s sad to see them go and below are a few words about how I was introduced to the service and why it was so great.

I originally learned about Posterous in 2010 on the Future Tense radio program (now the Marketplace Tech Report).  Host John Moe posted extras on his Posterous site and I was intrigued by how easy they made it to get content posted out to a blog platform.  The biggest hassle for me when it comes to blogging is getting everything to look right, and in the case of audio/video/pictures, look right.  To date, I’ve not been able to find as flexible of a landing pad for blog content as the early days of Posterous…it’s a big gap as far as I’m concerned.

I was an avid user of the platform, maintaining several blogs and publishing dozens if not hundreds of posts.  This included photos, videos, thoughts, dreams, and ideas.  Things took a turn when Twitter acquired Posterous in March of 2012.  Development of the platform essentially halted.  I got nervous when I read the writing on the wall (actually, it was writing on their FAQ page) and I abandoned ship, taking all of my content with me to my #2 option, WordPress.  I actually posted about it in September.

I’m glad I ran when I did, because it means I’m not scrambling now to preserve my posts.  Instead I’ll now watch it fade away in peace.  Farewell Posterous.

 

Leave a Reply

